Home > Uncategorized > Take the Intimidation Factor Out of Wine… go to Woodinville WA!

Take the Intimidation Factor Out of Wine… go to Woodinville WA!

Most of us can remember a time in our life that we interested in getting “into” something new but felt overwhelmed, intimidated and even foolish about how to go about it. After reading Wine for Dummies when I was about 23 (a book I highly recommend by the way), I set off on a Napa CA adventure to put my new skills to the test. Four small wineries into my day, I felt defeated, embarrassed and overwhelmed by my lack of knowledge and tasting know-how. I vowed to never drink wine in public again. Well, some fears are worth getting over.

My experience has enabled me to empathize with new wine enthusiasts who feel that tasting can be daunting. If you haven’t the time to read on, I will summarize in short for you now. Some of the best and most relaxed tasting room experiences I have had were in Woodinville WA. I have traveled the whole world in the name of wine, and this includes upcoming national wine regions in states such as New York and Virginia. I’m telling you, there is no more relaxed place, and less intimidation factor than the tasting rooms right here in our own back yard. From the dogs that always seem to be running around Des Voigne Cellars, and Edmonds Winery’s totally chill sit-sown tasting room, to Alexandria Nicole’s staff that laugh as often as they pour and Northwest Totem Cellars tasting room that is located in their family kitchen. Seriously folks- relax and have some fun with this. Throw on your favorite sweatshirt, pack a car full of bottled waters and snacks and head to Woodinville for the day.

Now lets discuss the fact that wine is an overwhelming and unapproachable entity for many. From tasting room etiquette awkwardness, to being terrified about being asked ‘what do you smell on the bouquet’, wine has been unnecessarily marketed as something people like you and I just “wouldn’t understand”. Who stereotypically knows and deserves wine? The wealthy, the cultured, the well dressed BMW driving, Gucchi wearing, PhD educated, world traveled aficionado types? Get this notion out of your head. It partially exists because of marketing efforts that attempt to sell us more than just wine. They are selling us a lifestyle that in my opinion, actually serves to put wine at arms length for many of us. I do not mean to be brash and simplistic, but wine is a beverage. Now… that is not to say that it is not also an art-form to be respected, discussed, and explored, but it is first and foremost just a drink, and you should not be afraid or intimidated by it. I am at a level with my wine interests that admittedly finds me discussing such topics as: the subtle nuances of Châteauneuf-du-Pape, what to pair with a crowned rack of lamb, and what piece of stemware would allow for a given wine to shine, but I also choose to have fun with wine and continue to keep that priority in check.

While I urge you to relax about wine, I do also encourage you to gain an even better appreciation of it by learning as you go. Tasting rooms, such as those in Woodinville, are not places designed for you to get drunk. Think of them as a friendly and approachable way to get you closer to understanding wine. Speak with staff and wine makers, take your time, discuss the wine with those standing by, and always remember how very much work, heart, soul and love goes into the making of the wine you sip.

Enjoy Seattle!!

Please come share your Woodinville Wine experiences with me on Twitter @SeattleWineGal, or find me bumming around Woodinville this Thursday with the guys from Small Lot Co-op!

  1. Divatink
    February 1, 2010 at 10:41 am

    I will try to make it out Thursday to see you! Great blog!

  2. February 1, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Yes, wine is a beverage, but it is a beverage with passion. Barbara – you are doing a great job of helping take the intimidation out of wine.

    I love the quote “Throw on your favorite sweatshirt, pack a car full of bottled waters and snacks and head to Woodinville for the day.”

    Getting out into the tasting rooms is one of the best ways to experience wine. It’s also affordable. Most people would be fearful of spending $50 on a bottle when they are uncertain of what is inside…at a tasting room you get to experiene what is inside…if you don’t like it, you’re probably only out the minimal tasting room fee.

    Josh @nectarwine

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

