Home > Uncategorized > Tourists are on Twitter Searching for Local Wineries to Visit- Develop a Social Media Presence!

Tourists are on Twitter Searching for Local Wineries to Visit- Develop a Social Media Presence!

Barbara at Stratus

Being on Twitter Will Bring Your Winery More Tourist Business!

The big week finally arrived, and I packed up and flew to Toronto to meet my boyfriend’s family for the first time. Jason and I are both into wine, so we decided to tour the Niagara wine region for a week after my weekend long familial introduction. Here’s the long story short- the family was great; the wine was great. I didn’t quite know what to expect (from either).

I have heard for years that the Ontario wine region is to be respected. My conclusion? It should be.

Tourists are on Twitter looking for things to do. Develop a presence, and they will visit you!

We wanted to be very choosey about the wineries we visited, and wished to include small boutique wineries, as well as much larger “mass-production” facilities. I will admit in full honestly that the deciding factor for our winery visits and purchases was their Twitter presence.

Before our tour, I set about investigating area wineries via Google, Facebook, and Twitter. I was delighted to see a few on Twitter, so I set about contacting them. @StratusWines winery Tweeted back to me almost instantly “We welcome you Seattle Wine Gal, come visit us! Ask for Miranda, I will personally run you through our line-up”. Other local wineries were equally as warm. Because of this, these are the wineries that we chose to spend our time and money, and will remember the next time we order the wines that we have grown to love.

If you are a winery or business owner, I assure you that it is well worth your while to establish a social media presence to facilitate tourist and local recognition and visitation. I see more and more businesses on Twitter, tweeting about their events to people all over the country. I also know many people who develop their travel itineraries based on these same Tweets (including myself).

Thanks so much for the great recommendations @IconWines– you were right on target.

Thanks to Miranda for the special attention and amazing tasting at one of the nicest wineries I have ever seen. @StratusWines.

Thank you Jackson-Triggs for the amazing quality of your staff- the tour you gave us was excellent (@Casey_Howe). A special thank you to Hugo and Austen.

  1. December 6, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    You speak the truth Seattle Wine Gal – I was just having a conversation with Spokane Winery @RKCellars about the very same thing yesterday! If you’re not on Twitter / Facebook, you are throwing away money.

    Josh @nectarwine

  2. December 9, 2009 at 5:34 am

    I relatively new to using FACEBOOK and TWEETER. I’ve become a nuisance on Facebook, so I must be doing something right, but I need all the help I can find. Tweeter is totally Greek to me. Having said all that how do I as a Taxi wine touring company find a way using these medias’ to economically promote myself .I’m small potato’s with a zero ad budget. Any ideas would be appreciated.

    • December 9, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      Pete, this is a great question. I will write a blog post for you soon with a well thought out answer. I appreciate you reaching out to me. For now, research as much as you can about good Social Media techniques. I like watching Youtube tutorials, they help a lot. I will contact you once I can sort out an organized answer for you. Thanks! -Barbara

  3. December 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    This was a great post. Here in Niagara the wineries are just starting to get their social media presences up and running, but those that have appear to be doing a great job. They’re not just using Twitter to advertise either, but genuinely interact and that’s a wonderful thing.

    There’s a small but lively community here among the wineries and local wine writers on Twitter and it can only be to their benefit to keep it going.

    Cheers!

  1. December 7, 2009 at 12:55 am
  2. December 11, 2009 at 1:53 am

Leave a Reply

