Home > Uncategorized > Wine Industry Tweetup: The Social Media Benefits of Hosting

Wine Industry Tweetup: The Social Media Benefits of Hosting

Sat Jan 9th Tweet-up at Alexandria Nicole Cellars, Woodinville WA

A wine Tweetup is when a group of people who ‘tweet’ about wine on Twitter meet in real life to taste or drink wine. Before, after and at the event, the attendees tweet about where they are and what wines they are drinking. Whether the host business is on Twitter or not, the business receive a great deal of online mentions and recognition for having hosted the event. In return for the mentions, they provide the group with a complimentary wine tasting (hopefully), and sometimes food as well. The level of what the host business offers can range from a complimentary small flight of wine to a fully catered wine dinners.

Lately, I have been tweeting about recent wine tweetups, and how I am planning on organizing some in the future. I have gotten a barrage of messages asking me how to organize a wine tweetup. I have also received a lot of attention from restaurants, wineries, and wine shops asking me if they can provide the venue. I am so glad that these businesses realize the benefits of hosting such an event, and how exponential the ROI (return on investment) can be for them.

Getting in good with people who have the ‘power’ to tell thousands about your business is one smart move!

Social Media methodology and tactics range greatly from business to business; within the wine industry there are very unique and exciting opportunities. Whether it be giving complimentary tastings for online recognition, or offering special Facebook or Twitter customer discounts, it is a wonderful space to utilize. I speak with many Businesses that have a social media campaign, or host tweetups who tell me of the amazing benefits. Here is what Ali from Alexandria Nicole Cellars (who hosted an excellent tweetup last week) recently told me:

“We really enjoyed meeting a group of people who love wine & introducing them to ours. We look forward to continue talking to them on Twitter, reading their blogs & Facebook pages, seeing their photos & seeing them again in person at our tasting rooms & events. We are strong supporters of social media & believe tweetups are one of many social media approaches to build relationships with a very valuable community of wine enthusiasts.”

If you have a wine or food business and would like to host a tweetup, find a few influential wine tweeters who live in the area and invite them to come to a tweetup event that you will host. Another way to be a venue host is to ask an influential wine blogger or tweeters to organize the attendees of the event, and you will provide the wine/food and venue.

A special thank you to Russell’s Restaurant for the amazing wine pairing appetizers provided at the Alexandria Nicole Cellars tweetup.

See more about this topic: What can Social Media do for Your Winery?

All content written by Seattle Wine Gal.

  1. January 11, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Let’s say you are trying to organize a tweetup for you and your followers. Should you notify the wine bar ahead of time. I feel kind of awkward calling them up saying hey I’m mr important twitterer and me and all my very important and influential friends are going to be meeting at your place of business. Or do you just make a reservation for 6 or 8 people and not tell them who you are?

    • January 11, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      Ha ha- awesome question. You needn’t be self-righteous, or demanding to organize a tweeup, nor do you need your venue host to offer anything in return- that is up to you and them. The truth of the matter is, however, that you ARE offering them a lot by organizing the tweet up, provided the attendees have a strong following. You would be surprised how many restaurants are very happy to host, AND offer complimentary tastings. You can think of it like a food critic eating at a restaurant. A good review can be a very good ROI for the price of a dinner.

  2. January 11, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Barbara – I was thrilled to see this tweet up in progress on twitter. There was so much swirl around it. The business not only enjoyed the immediate ROI but they also received thousands of eyes from the tweets. Folks like Ali totally get it and it is refreshing to see.

    I already have a wine tweetup planned for our area!

    Josh @nectarwine on twitter

  3. January 11, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    This is the kind of word-of-mouth marketing that businesses dream of. It’s instantaneous and far-reaching.

    For the sake of discussion, how closely would you relate free tastings for tweets to your previous post about free wine?

    • January 11, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      Great question, in my last blog post I discussed ‘free wine’ in exchange for social media shout-outs. I view tweets ups in a similar vein. What do you think Doug?

      • January 11, 2010 at 10:53 pm

        I feel the same way about tweet-ups as I do about wine samples. It’s all about transparency and objectivity. A food critic does not guarantee a restaurant that he will give a positive review of a restaurant that hosts him/her. In the same way, wineries that send samples assume the risk that they will not get an enthusiastic recommendation, and tweet-up hosts should assume that you will call it as you see it.

        That being said, restaurants, wineries and tweet-up venues typically want you to check them out because they’re proud of what they have to offer and want others to see it, too. Odds are, you will find valuable things to talk about that will benefit both the venue and your readers.

        –Doug Haugen
        WINO Magazine

      • January 12, 2010 at 7:49 am

        Doug, I once reviewed a wine I did not care for and all I wrote was “thanks so very much to [x Winery] for sending me a sample for review- It is appreciated]. I wonder now, should I have been more forthcoming on not liking the wine?

  4. Cheryl Cardwell
    January 11, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    This was a fun and casual event, we had a great time. Nice to meet some folks in person for the first time. Russell’s was great!
    Please keep me on the invite list for the next one!

    @DivaTink
    Aka Cheryl

  5. January 11, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Nice job Barbara – I had this very topic swirling around in my head today while I was cooking…but you beat me to it! 🙂 I’m going to blog on my site about the advantage for restos and mention the value of these as well.

    Thanks again for including me Saturday; I’m happy to bring my food “expertise” (such as it is!) anytime you need me!

    Karen
    @incrediblechef

  6. January 11, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Barbara,

    I hope you’ll invite me next time. I know of a winery that is probably interested in hosting, are you up for it? How much advance notice do you need to pull some people together?

  7. January 12, 2010 at 4:30 am

    I’ve been to one wine Tweetup at Montaluce Vineyards up in Dahlonega, GA. It was a lot of fun and there is a second gathering of local wine & food bloggers coming up in a couple weeks.

    I think wineries and restaurants have a lot to benefit from these type of gatherings because of their inherent social nature. You put on a good event, then people Tweet, blog or post it on Facebook and word of mouth spreads. The key is creating a positive experience and having a vocal group that you know will spread the word about your wine / food.

    Other businesses can take lessons and create their own gatherings. Ever heard of Missouri Bank? They are a small bank that leverages social media which helps them create deeper connections to their customers. Last year they held a Roshambo (rock, paper, scissors) contest, which has nothing to do with banking. Just use a little imagination, be genuine, reach out and connect.

  8. January 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    What a fun idea! I’m not surprised that you’re at the forefront of making wine themed tweet-ups. Seattle is lucky to have you =)

  9. January 26, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Great idea! I’ve been to a few tweetups, but not a wine tweetup. I think I’ll work on organizing one in the Bellingham area.

  10. doug
    February 3, 2010 at 6:40 am

    yes as a journalist no as a wino

  11. February 16, 2010 at 7:44 am

    See my posting on wine and web 2.0 in Germany:

    http://schiller-wine.blogspot.com/2010/02/wine-and-web-20-in-germany.html

    Cheers.

    Christian

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

